Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

symptoms of tts?

Posted by samuel adam on 10/02/03 at 17:30 (131983)

i would like to know what the symptoms of tts are? is numbness and tingling always involved or can pain be the only symptom? can the tts become worse if one walks fo rlong distances or stay at the same level?

Re: symptoms of tts?

Sharon W on 10/02/03 at 17:36 (131985)

Samuel,

I'm not a doctor but here is a list of symptoms for TTS put together by Wendyn, our resident TTS guru:

- Painful/tingling in and around ankles sometimes the toes

- Swelling of the feet

- Painful burning, tingling, or numb sensations in the lower legs

- The pain worsens and spreads after standing for long periods

- Pain is worse with activity and is relieved by rest

- Weakness

- Electric shock sensations

- Pain radiating up into the leg, and down into the arch, heel, and toes

- Pain can occur and persist at rest

- Typically the heels are spared (conflicting information on this)

- Hot/cold sensations in the feet

- Feeling as though the feet don't have enough padding

- Pain while driving

- Throbbing

- Pain along the Posterior Tibial nerve path

- Burning sensation on the bottom of foot, radiating up

- Parasthesia (pins and needles)

- Dysaesthesia (abnormal pain)

- Hyperaesthesia (increased sensation)

- Tinel's sign

If you are interested in reading the rest of Wendyn's FAQ, please go to the TTS and click on the link at the top of the Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome message board.

You can also ask questions there or compare notes with other patients who have this condition.

Hope this helps.

Sharon

samuel adam on 10/02/03 at 17:58 (131995)

thnk you sharon

Donna H. on 10/02/03 at 19:34 (132004)