Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

2" heels are helping!!

Posted by Kay S on 10/05/03 at 21:19 (132362)

After 2 yrs of PF, now have bone spur on left foot. Right foot healed. Was wearing Birks and NBs stretching, etc. (Have peripheral vascular disease and am on blood thinner, so cannot ice or take NSAIDS)--foot just worsening. Sometimes it felt like a knife was pointed toward the sky and I was standing on it. Pain was becoming torture. Latest pod said not to wear flat shoes. Nothing was helping! Out of desperation, put on a pair of clogs with 2' heels and wore them to work about 2 weeks ago. Immediate improvement!! No more knife!!! Still have first step pain, but even that is better!

Can anyone tell me why 2' heels are helping when nothing else would?

Don't anyone give up trying new things.. .

Re: 2" heels are helping!!

Dorothy on 10/06/03 at 00:18 (132377)

I am not a doctor, pedorthist, physical therapist or any other kind of medical expert. But I do love clogs and I wear them regularly, but not solely. They are part of my 'shoe rotation' and sometimes they feel like absolute heaven. My preference is for Dansko clogs. They have some arch support and are just generally comfortable. As to your question, I speculate that it is because it moves your body weight forward somewhat, off your heels so much and more onto the ball of your foot, just slightly but enough to give some relief. It must be the same principle as the heel lift in the shoe that Rachel and Steve have written about here, but with the clog the lift comes from the shoe height. I notice that SAS has a shoe that is almost a wedge-looking style and I wonder if that would also be comfortable, especially to the SAS afficiandos here.

Rick R on 10/06/03 at 06:59 (132400)