Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Accommodations at Work

Posted by Mary M on 10/15/03 at 21:34 (134086)

I had Dornier ESWT done in June after struggling with PF in my left foot for two years and getting no relief from the usual conservative treatments. While I'm happy to report much improvement, I still have stiffness and soreness along the sole, as if my plantar fascia lacks flexibility. My podiatrist thinks the next step is custom orthotics (cheap over-the-counter models didn't cut it). I'm still waiting for the OK from my insurance company, because I can't afford to spring for these out of my own pocket. I'm getting a bit nervous because my employer is starting to make some noise about accommodating my condition. I work full-time as a cashier, and we're expected to stand at our registers. I should add that I had two good feet when I went from a desk job to my current one three years ago-- the first symptoms of PF, which I mistook for a stone bruise, appeared within a month of being on my feet 40 hours a week. Since my ESWT treatment, I've been sitting at my register, which has worked out great, at least from my point of view. I haven't found that it compromises my productivity (in fact I consistently lead my store in add-on sales of our company discount program, a fact well known to management). But the brass seem to want to get me back on my feet, and I honestly don't know if I can do it without triggering a recurrence of PF. Maybe I could stand for a few hours, but I doubt I could manage a full eight-hour shift. My podiatrist seems to think custom orthotics would solve the problem, but with all due respect he's never suffered from PF himself. I can't risk getting terminated over this because my husband is on Social Security disability and my job provides the health insurance for us both. Has anyone dealt with a similar dilemma? Would this be protected under the D