Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Berkenstock shoes

Posted by Mary Jane K. on 10/17/03 at 17:52 (134428)

Hello
Please give me some advice on purchasing Berkenstock shoes. My pod. suggested I get them and she suggested that I find some sort of special insert that goes into it to make it a custom fit. Have you heard of these and where can I get these shoes? I am on my feet alot and I have had plantar fac. problems.
thanks
MJ

Re: Berkenstock shoes

Suzanne D. on 10/19/03 at 20:42 (134710)

Mary Jane, I am not a doctor but someone who also has PF. I am much improved from 2 years ago although I still have some problems. I wear Birkenstocks and feel they have helped me a great deal.

I learned about Birkenstocks on this site when I began searching to learn about plantar fasciitis. There are many different styles and types, but the one which you will read about over and over on this website is the Arizona sandal. It seems to have helped many people.It is a basic sandal with two wide straps across the top of the foot and no back strap.

I called some shoe stores in the nearest city and found a store which sold them so I could try them on. I recommend this if you possibly can. Hopefully, the salesperson can help advise you on the proper fit.

You can look at the styles and read about the different footbeds at this site:

http://www.birkenstockexpress.com

You need to know that unlike most shoes, Birkenstocks MUST be broken in slowly - no matter how good they feel when you first wear them. Begin by wearing them just about an hour the first day, then each day gradually increase your wearing time. If you don't do this, you will end up with very sore feet.