Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

plantar fasciitis/2 yrs & nothing helps

Posted by Gail M on 10/23/03 at 22:35 (135218)

I've been fighting this for two years, have seen 2 different podiatrists and they have very different opinions on how to treat it, what kind of shoe I should wear, etc. I've had 10 cortizone shots in 2 years and they only help temporarily. My doctor is now talking about surgery to collapse the fasca. He says it's not a major surgery and should stop the pain. Has anyone had this? If so, did it help and what was the down time.

Thanks

Re: plantar fasciitis/2 yrs & nothing helps

nancy s. on 10/23/03 at 22:52 (135220)

lorinda: oh, i'm sorry -- gail! : have you read the heel pain book? it should provide you with the answers you seek. if not, please go ahead and ask specific questions of the many caring posters here.

good luck to you.

nancy

Steve G on 10/23/03 at 23:50 (135226)

Gail - First of all, that's too many shots in a two year period. don't have any more. Read the book and make sure you are taking advantage of all the treatment options. Surgery is the LAST resort. Ask you doctor about ESWT. This non-invasive procedure should definitely be considered before surgery.

Kathy L on 10/24/03 at 02:05 (135231)

I suggest you search back on my posts on MSM and supplements and try them!

LARA on 10/24/03 at 09:00 (135248)

My podiatrist (who recognized TTS immediately after I'd had 3 years of dealing with it and having it missed by 4 other doctors) says that if PF lasts over a year with treatment, it is likely Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome. Have you explored that?

Also, the same doctor 'gave' me compression socks, and they provided some relief immediately and in about a month I was stabilized at a level that was quite nice.