Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

surgery following plantar rupture

Posted by Michelle F on 10/26/03 at 12:21 (135624)

I have not posted for a month or so. In May I had a complete rupture of plantar fascia while supervising a kid's basketball game for school. I'm a school teacher and, fortunately, the medical work and time off has been covered by worker's compensation. The initial injury became a case of tarsal tunnel syndrome... and the fun just hasn't stopped since then.

Two weeks ago we went ahead and had surgery. The intent was to free up the entrapped tarsal tunnel nerve and release the plantar fascia...

Apparently, there was more damage to plantar fascia than expected. DR said that all that was left of the fascia ligament was scattered scar tissue. In addition, reaching the entrapped nerve was more difficult and involved cutting the muscles in my foot. The muscle under the ligament was apparently 2-3 times larger than typical (both much thicker and branching much higher up on top of arch and ankle)and was pressing on the nerve. I used to be an athelete although now I'm a fat, middle-aged, out of shape schoolteacher. I've been given at least three weeks in wheel chair and three weeks after that for leave, but DR has been somewhat sketchy about full recovery and time frames.

Anyway... my questions:
1) Is a full recovery still possible?
2) Is t

Re: surgery following plantar rupture

Michelle F on 10/26/03 at 12:50 (135627)

Blabbing on at length, I must have cut off the questions...
2) How long can I reasonably expect to be _________ ?
... completely off feet
... mostly off feet
... off work
... in pain when standing, walking ...

PS was to say that my DR was really good and incision doesn't hurt... but foot still is messed up and cannot bear any weight without swelling and intense pain.

Dr. Z on 10/26/03 at 13:13 (135632)