Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Would you recommend?

Posted by Kathy on 10/31/03 at 17:55 (136096)

I'm a teacher with 20 years experience & PF & TTS. I've been wearing a removable walking cast now for about 5 weeks & trying all kinds of vitamins, etc. I think some of my pain could be relieved by standing on a rubber mat (the kind cashiers use) while I'm teaching instead of the solid concrete floor. Of course, I don't stand in one spot, but if I had a large mat in front of the chalkboard, I think it might help. My principal & school nurse feel I would need a doctor's written recommendation before the school board would purchase the inexpensive mat for my classroom. Plus, I think they are worried about worker's comp. Has anyone tried the extra cushioning at work or can anyone recommend a company to purchase these mats? Thanks!

Re: Would you recommend?

Ron B on 10/31/03 at 18:37 (136098)

Kathy
I work in a Bakery, I stand in one spot MOST of the night! I have a rubber mat to stand on but not sure if it helps. But I keep using it. Have some good night and some bad. I would give it a try, it can't make your feet hurt and worse

Suzanne D. on 10/31/03 at 19:16 (136103)

Kathy, this is my 24th year of teaching (actually, 26th, if you count two years of almost full-time subbing), and I have PF. We moved to a new school last December with long hallways and concrete floors. I was improved at the time of our move, but it took - and is still taking - a toll on my feet.