Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

2nd ESWT treatment on 11-05-03

Posted by Molly H on 11/03/03 at 00:01 (136237)

I had my 1st treatment with the Dornier back in May. It almost cured my right foot and my left was @ 50%improved. Then one day @ 1 and 1/2 months ago my right foot got bad again and slowly but surely is now WORSE than my left. My left is feeling much better but, I still have some pain. Would I be setting myself back by having ESWT on my left? Or will the 2nd treatment speed the healing? If anyone could answer these questions, I would greatly appreciate it!

Re: 2nd ESWT treatment on 11-05-03

Pauline on 11/03/03 at 11:20 (136253)

I'm not a doctor, but I think most of the doctors that provide ESWT would say 'no you would not be setting yourself back by having another treatment'. Many other posters have gone ahead with a second, third and sometimes even more ESWT treatments. Some selected the same machine and others swithed to a different one.

I'd suggest you talk to your doctor and see what length of waiting time he suggests between treatments. As I understand ESWT, healing can continue to occurs over several weeks and months. Some doctors may suggest a longer waiting period. Your treating doctor can help you decide. Brian G. who posts on this site waited a year I think before having his second Dornier treatment, we've heard from others who returned sooner.

I think the question you really would like to have a definite answer to is will it help and I don't think anyone can provide you with a definate quarantee on that one.

Brian will tell you he was not helped, others responded in a positive fashion. Many variables play a part in treating P.F.

ESWT is a great treatment to try, but whether it's the cure all everyone is searching for is a question still waiting for a definate answer.

SteveG on 11/03/03 at 13:15 (136266)