Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Can heat help?

Posted by Rich on 11/04/03 at 08:25 (136325)

I have been icing for 4 months. I was wondering if anyone has had luck with heat. Has anyone tried contrast baths? Has anyone used topical creams or something like Joint-ritis? I am open to other suggestions.

Re: Can heat help?

Pam S. on 11/04/03 at 09:00 (136327)

Rich:
It sounds like you are really struggling right now. I feel for you. Just keep at it. You are smart for continuing to ask questions. It is a 'process' to find what works for you.

I do not have PF. I have TTS. It is hard to tell the difference because they both equal quite a bit of pain. Alot actually. I have had good success with the contrast baths. Do not use really hot water and always finish with cold water. I never know how long to do this for. I just rotate back and forth about l0 times. I believe this aids in healing.
I have noticed some people on these boards do not have luck with ice, just heat. See what works best for you.

There are creams out there for inflammation but I have lost the information. Maybe someone has that.

Hang in there. I totally understand how frustrating this all is. You WILL get better in time. Warmly, Pam

Rich on 11/04/03 at 09:08 (136329)

Thanks, Pam. I really appreciate the support I am getting here.

Re: Suggestions concerning icing technique

Carole C in NOLA on 11/04/03 at 09:51 (136337)

Yes, people have used those things (but not me, personally). I will let others address heat, contrast baths, and topical creams.