Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Exercise After Surgery

Posted by Nadine on 11/04/03 at 21:46 (136402)

I had open release surgery in July. I still have mild pain, but not bad. Would it hurt to try mild low impact aerobics? It is a senior class and quite slow. If it hurts will it slow my healing? I just don't know how much pain is too m uch. I desperately miss exercising, as I was an aerobics teacher and did lots of classes as well as step. I want to heal but really cannot judge what might be ok for me. I am 59, a bit overweight, and my classes are slow and have older people. Also, would jumping in a pool lightly hurt? I have only done deep water classes so far.
I had no physical therapy. Do you think I should ask for any?

He released me after the fifth week and said to just call if I thought I was not healing fast enough and he could do a number of things like refer me to physical therapy etc. I have had no physical therapy. I seem to be healing and I know it will take a while. I just have no idea when it is ok to do certain things. I was told it is completely individual and just to listen to my body.

If I did say light aerobics, no jumping, things like grapevines and walking forward and back......could I hurt the foot in your opinion? Possibly just one or two songs to start. How about a treadmill or bicycle? Which of those would be better, or should I not do that at all? I haven't tried at all. I desperately want to exercise, but I don't want to do anything that could set me back. Do you think I should call and be refered to physical therapy? I am having pain in both heels when I get up, which is new. Sort of like this thing started years ago.But overall it is healing nicely. I take no pain medication.