Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Anyone cured?

Posted by Diana A. on 12/05/03 at 12:32 (139406)

I began having foot pain 4 months ago after wearing some very high arched shoes at work. I'm a 24 year old nurse and work on my feet 12 hours 3x's a week. I haven't been to the doctor but I'm pretty sure I have PF. My symptoms are exactly what is described for PF. My pain is 5/10 in the moring with first few steps and it feels like my muscles are very tight. Throughout the day my pain diminishes. However, after resting and getting back on my feet the pain is back.

The pain has gotten better in the last 2 months and I consider myself lucky not having intense debillitating pain as some of you do. My main question is has anyone had the pain disappear and not come back? I hate to think I will have this forever. I realize it takes a long time to heal but I get depressed thinking of not being able to run and exercise as I always have. I've started streching and think I will buy a night splint. I'm so glad to have found this site and know I'm not alone. I would love to hear any success stories.

Diana A.

Re: Anyone cured?

SteveG on 12/05/03 at 13:48 (139413)

Diana - First of all, I think you should see a doctor to ensure that you do have PF. I would also read the heel pain book on this site to ensure that you are taking advantage of all your treatment options.

The vast majority of people get better i.e., are cured, but you want to treat this agressively so you don't become one of us old timers.

Carole C in NOLA on 12/05/03 at 15:11 (139423)

Sure! Lots of people heal completely from PF and return to their normal lives. Doctors tell us that 90-95% of their PF patients are completely cured. Most of those who are completely cured aren't reading this message board, though... they are out enjoying life!