Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Diabetes Mellitus Type II and foot pain

Posted by john king on 12/12/03 at 19:18 (139884)

How might Diabetes type II be a cause of foot pain? I went for the Agent Orange exam at the VA and the doctor said I had possible Diabetes and neuropathic pain due to agent orange exposure.

Re: Diabetes Mellitus Type II and foot pain

Steve G on 12/12/03 at 21:35 (139889)

I am not a doctor, but diabetes is a well known cause of neuropathy and circulation problems, both of which could cause foot pain. How diabetes leads to these problems can be found via a quick search through google. However, if your doctor suspects you have diabetes, this could be easily confirmed through blood work. They have a blood test that gives an indication of your glucose levels for the previous 3 months

john king on 12/13/03 at 10:36 (139920)

I had the blood test at the Veterans Hospital in Tampa. I guess I am right on the edge of diabetes type 2 supposedly caused by exposure to Agent Orange in Vietnam. The VA environmental doctor told me to file for compensation. I have neuropathic pain in more places than my feet. Maybe this could explain the long term and diffuse pain I have had in my feet. The last pod I went to just shook his head and told me there was nothing he could do for me. Now I am going to the VA pain clinic in January. I think this is a good reason to have a MD check you out when you have severe pain regardless of a diagnosis by a pod or orthopedist. Even so I find that taping the feet helps.

wayne m. on 12/14/03 at 00:29 (139965)