Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

calcium suppliments for heel spurs?

Posted by Marie C. on 12/14/03 at 22:18 (140007)

My heel pain has become quite painful and I am reluctant to think about surgery without trying non-invasive remedies. I have been hearing about special calcium supplements (in the right doses) as a cure. What do you know about this?

Re: calcium suppliments for heel spurs?

Pauline on 12/14/03 at 22:53 (140008)

I'm not a doctor, but I've had plantar fasciitis three times. My advice is for you to save your money. There is no calicum supplement that I know of or documented medical research that says special calcium supplements will cure your condition. My guess is you've heard the ads for Coral Calcium. You might want to check this website for good information on this product. http://www.quackwatch.org/

I think you'll find most of the people here who have been dealing with your condition and the Podiatrists who treat it will tell you the same thing.

Your best information will come from reading Scott's book and from asking questions of the doctors and others who participate in this forum.

Richard, C.Ped on 12/15/03 at 07:58 (140021)

Plantar Fasciitis (if that is exactly your diagnosis for your pain) is a stress and overuse type injury. In my opinion, the best thing is to get down to the nitty gritty as to why you have it. The area needs to be off loaded in order to promote healing. Using proper orthotics and rest, rest, rest are the major factors in healing.

As for 'heel spurs' read this link as to a discussion we had regarding them.

Suzanne D. on 12/15/03 at 14:56 (140031)

And, Marie, here is Scott's book of which Pauline was speaking: Just click on the blue words - Heel Pain Book. You'll find much helpful information.

Best wishes to you!
Suzanne :)

Marie C. on 12/15/03 at 21:30 (140055)