Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

A.R.T. any bad things I should know about it??

Posted by David B on 12/15/03 at 14:56 (140030)

I have heard alot of good things about active release treatment but was wondering what are the risks in having A.R.T. done? Can they tear up something they shouldn't? I have had 2 ESWT treaments and have had very little success. I really don't want to have PF done so I really don't have many other options to try.

Re: A.R.T. any bad things I should know about it??

helen s on 12/15/03 at 16:10 (140036)

What is ART. I had Plantar Release Op about 14 years ago and wish I never had. Its caused more problems with scar tissue. I would advise anyone not to have any ops.

David B on 12/15/03 at 19:36 (140048)

ART active release therapy, they break up scar tissue with a deep massage.

Aly on 12/16/03 at 07:38 (140066)

Hi David,

I'm not a doctor so I don't know the 'worst case scenario' as far as A.R.T. is concerned - I do not think there are likely to be risks, but perhaps Dr.Z or Dr. Wander can advise on any possible risks, or if there are conditions that it would be contraindicated for.

I'm a current patient, so I can give you that perspective. The first 2 sessions I had were *very* painful. I started taking ibuprofen beforehand and that helped a lot. My feet started feeling looser (who knew they were tight?!) and the circulation after a treatment felt great.