Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

How is everyone holding up with the shopping season??

Posted by francesc on 12/18/03 at 15:59 (140229)

Just wondered how everyone manages to do the Christmas shopping without making the PF worse? This is my first year having to do the shopping with my orthotics. And while this definitely helps, I did notice that my feet were sore the next morning after shopping for 3-4 hrs the previous day.

Does anyone have any tricks/recommendations besides doing all the shopping online?? :-)

Frances

Re: How is everyone holding up with the shopping season??

marie on 12/18/03 at 16:18 (140232)

Go to Walmart and ask for a cart. Not only is it necessary but it's kinda fun to zip around in them....actually I prefer Meijer's carts they really go fast.

If you don't have a wheel chair check the Trader for a used one. I did alot of shopping in a wheel chair last Christmas. My husband and students all volunteered to push me around the Mall. It's hard to accept that you have to use one but rest is truely the most important cure.

Try going to smaller specialty stores. The lines aren't as long and it's less walking. If you don't have a handicap sticker ask your doc for a temporary one. All you need is a script.

Shop on!

Merry Christmas, marie

Suzanne D. on 12/18/03 at 18:04 (140246)

I try to do a little at a time over an extended period of time, Frances. But one Saturday recently I had a big shopping day and rode in the back seat of a friend's car, stretching my legs out during the entire trip. This really helped me to hold up during all the walking.

Best wishes for a happy holiday!
Suzanne :)

SuzanneK on 12/18/03 at 21:15 (140255)

I solved the problem by doing most of my shopping online. They deliver right to my front door - I don't even have to walk to the mailbox! HA!

wendyn on 12/18/03 at 22:37 (140265)