Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Different symptoms?

Posted by Curt B. on 12/23/03 at 08:28 (140651)

Hi,

I developed pain in both feet and have had it for over a year now. I believe I did it winter backpacking in boots withput sufficient support. I have been to a foot doctor who prescribed custom orthotics which I have been wearing for over a couple months and haven't helped. The thing that puzzles my doctor is my symptoms aren't classic PF. My feet feel better when I wake up in the morning or I sit for awhile. I can walk barefoot and my feet will ache after awhile but actually don't feel any worse than when I wear orthotics. In fact the orthotics seem to aggravate the achiness. I don't have any severe sharp pain just a constant severe ache when I'm standing or walking that's in my heel and through the arch area. When I suggested shots, my doctor said he wouldn't know where to give the shot because of my symptoms. He is sending me for a bone scan to rule out stress fractures but he doesn't think it is that either as he can squeeze my heels and I have no pain. Has anyone else had symptoms like this? Thanks.

Re: Different symptoms?

AndrueC on 12/23/03 at 10:20 (140662)

It doesn't sound too much different from what I have had for the past couple of years. I don't walk barefoot much now but it never caused me any problems. My feet are still sensitive to footwear but like you they are sensitive to pressure. As long as tender areas aren't pummelled my feet feel mine mostly.

Recently the inside of my ankles have begun to complain occasionally but even that is in response to use rather than 'first step' pain.

BrianJ on 12/23/03 at 11:33 (140667)

Curt --