Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Don't even know where to begin...

Posted by WendyM on 1/02/04 at 02:34 (141120)

Hi, and Happy New Year. I've been poking around this site and getting a lot of information, yet I have a lot of questions, so, I hope you don't mind if I post and vent? Thanks.

I am just miserable with plantar fasciitis (nice to finally know how to spell the darned thing). I'm a professional singer, and a few years ago I started teaching to get my kids into this private school. I teach 1st grade and their Jr. choir, and truthfully never sit. Because of this lifestyle...standing and walking all day, sitting and planning and grading the rest of the day (needless to say working 7 days a week now with my singing I've put on weight...no time for myself)...I've developed this foot problem that has become downright crippling. It started so strange, really, with trouble getting up from the carpet during carpet time. I thought it was arthritis because it seemed all my joints hurt, and the circulation was shot in my legs! Then the numbness and tingling started, and I thought it was diabedes. I started following this up with Dr. visits having diabedes tests, nerve conduction tests...all to find out, now a year and a half later that is plantar faciitis and heel spurs. The thing is, when people ask me 'What is it that's the matter with you??' and I tell them, they say, 'Oh, I had that, and it just went away'...or, 'I never needed a cane...' I wonder if this is as bad as it gets with others or am I just a big baby? I needed a wheelchair to Christmas shop because I knew in the middle of it I just wouldn't be able to walk any more. I'm so confused! My Dr. isn't insisting on orthodics, he just gave me a cortisone shot in one of my feet, (at that point my good foot hadn't been hurting yet) and he mentioned clipping a tendon to release pressure in my foot. Well, that doesn'