Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

plantar fasciitis and neurontin

Posted by terryg on 1/05/04 at 20:26 (141453)

I have had plantar fasciitis for 6 months. I am in very bad pain and pretty disabled. I have tried therapy, anti-inflamatories (allergies to these), ice, tape, and stretching. I would say I am worse now than ever. My doctor just recommended Neurontin. I wanted to know if anyone else has had success with this? Thank you.

Re: plantar fasciitis and neurontin

BrianJ on 1/05/04 at 22:25 (141458)

Hi Terry --

I am not a doctor, but have (unfortunately) had about 6 years of experience with PF. Neurontin (400 mg 3 times per day) has helped reduce my pain, but is by no means a cure. Two other things that have worked for me are (1) hot water soaks, which temporarily relieve the pain, and (2) moderate exercise to get the circulation going, such as walking on grass, bicycling or swimming.

Keep trying different things, such as contrast baths, different orthotics, and different taping methods. There is bound to be something that will help.

chrisb on 1/06/04 at 12:22 (141480)

Terry I don't know if this is any help but...
my doc recently suggested I try neurontin cream. He wasn't recommending it as a cure, but since I've tried everything else except surgery he thought I may as well try it. I've been smearing it on for over 2 weeks. My pain is very slightly better now than 2 weeks ago, but I can't be sure its because of the cream.
He had a pharmacy make up the cream. He hasn't suggested I take it orally.

Shell D. on 1/06/04 at 18:51 (141503)

I currently take Neurontin 900 mg at bedtime for fibromyalgia. I have a HORRIBLE case of PF and I'm actually scheduled for surgery this week. The Neurontin hasn't done anything for my PF. Hopefully it will help you.

Dr. Zuckerman on 1/06/04 at 18:55 (141505)