Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

cast getting loose!

Posted by jen on 1/07/04 at 21:29 (141602)

well my cast is already getting loose, i have yet to step on the foot which is so hard to not do! it seems i can move ankle a bit now in the cast. im suppose to be non weight in cast for 6 weeks, is it normal to be able to move foot a bit? my foot feels so good in the cast,im so tempted to walkk on it or get the cast taken off. a girlfriend said she wore a moon boot cast for a whhile for a broken foot im going to ask about getting one as its removable etc.. im using my wheelchair a lot and its nice to keep foot elevated in the leg rest. will doing toe exercises keep muscles ok or is it a lost cause?

Re: cast getting loose!

Julie on 1/08/04 at 01:25 (141608)

Jen

I wouldn't like to promise that doing the toe exercises will 'keep muscles ok' - I have no personal experience of being casted, but I would imagine there will be some rehabilitation needed once you are out of the cast and bearing weight again. But I think that if you do them regularly, whenever you think of it (which shouldn't be difficult as you have plenty of time on your hands right now :) ) they will help considerably. I'm sure you can feel that when you curl your toes and stretch them, all your foot muscles are working.

Regarding your other point, I imagine you should stay in the full cast for as long as your doctor told you to, and definitely not put weight on it. Patience is the key to healing.

R C on 1/11/04 at 19:35 (141837)

Jen,