Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Question re. Exercise Bikes

Posted by Aly on 1/15/04 at 16:49 (142127)

Hi guys,

Quick question for those of you who've tried using an exercise bike with your PF - I'm starting physio on Monday for my post tib tendonitis and I'm pretty sure he's going to want me to get on the bike (I've seen him before for something else & I know his style!) I know somebody here once posted about the importance of foot positioning on the pedals, to ensure you don't do more harm than good. Also, I'm wondering how important footwear is, if at all, during this activity. Can someone please re-post about this, so I know what to do?

Re: Question re. Exercise Bikes

AndrueC on 1/17/04 at 05:19 (142257)

I'm not an expert but here's my take on the situation.

Advice on PF often says that mowing a lawn and pushing a car can trigger it. Runners often suffer from it. All these and other PF triggers have one common factor:Pushing with the toes/ball of the foot.

It seems to me therefore that PF sufferers should avoid any activity that involves pushing with the toes. If you cycle 'properly' you will be doing just that:pushing with your toes (or at least the ball of your foot).

The term 'properly' can be called 'good cycling technique' but you might wonder why cyclists encourage this if it can harm the plantar fascia - shouldn't we be seeing loads of injured cyclists? Shouldn't cyclists be as at risk as runners?

Well here's a thing:If you go into a sports store and look at cycling shoes you'll find that they have a rigid sole. I have a pair. The only way you could bend the toes upward would be to break the shoe.

This is surely evidence that cyclists /know/ the risks of cycling and arch strain/PF. They use shoes with a rigid sole because that sole can take the load off the plantar fascia.

Re: Answers from me

Carole C in NOLA on 1/17/04 at 22:49 (142293)