Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Exercise Following Surgery

Posted by Laura on 1/16/04 at 18:49 (142232)

I had an open release PF surgery 7 months ago. I got a lot better and then started feeling more pain. Now it is a bit better. I am on no pain medication and have periods of no pain at all. I still cannot walk far without some pain or stand in one spot too long most of the time. I have been an aerobics teacher and avid exerciser for the past 25 years. I am now nearly 60, and thought I would try a few classes. I tried a very slow senior class, and it increased the pain. I tried a moderate step class and it hurt afterwards, but was better the next day. It seems to not hurt my foot as much as the very slow aerobics, which does not make sense. Maybe it is the lateral movement in the aerobics. I have done the step class three times now. Each time it gets better. My calves are very weak and I lack my regular muscles from inactivity, so I can just barely do this. I did it last night, very very carefully with no riser, and woke up this morning with no pain at all. Now, I realize this may be a stupid thing to do. But.....there is no lasting damage and I am better every time I do this.
What is your opinion? Is this dangerous for me to do? AS I say, there is some increased pain in the heel after the class for a few hours,but it is so much better and was actually no pain at all this morning. I also have pain in my knees, but I know this is from not exercising for so long. I do a very mild senior aqua class 3-4 times a week that is non weight bearing. I stay suspended in the water the whole time. That has helped me heal these last months.
I would appreciate anybody's opinion as to if you think I am doing the right thing. I do not want to suddenly have some sort of severe damage. I am older and a bit overweight, but I am being very careful.
Thanks so much for your responses.