Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Taping

Posted by Sandy H. on 2/11/04 at 03:33 (144073)

I haven't updated in about a year. I've had inflammation because of pronation for more than 3 years now. Yikes. My most successful episode so far was getting a podiatrist who changed my customized orthotics four times. Not by making them more aggressive as the previous one did but less aggressive. They have a forefoot posting which helps me because I have tearing in the middle and front of my foot under my big toe. He also showed me a taping method that is good for pronators because it supports the arch more than the one on this web site. Instead of going along the foot you just go across it in three strips across the width of your foot and slightly up the inside of your ankle. I've been putting it on every day for about 6 months now. Get through about a leuko tape roll a month and make sure to ROLL it off like a fruit rollup otherwise you rip your skin. If you want to go swimming you have to put it on a bit ahead of time is the trick and it usually doesn't come off. Oh the other good thing is pilates. Getting your posture right. Oh and I replaced cross country running with mountainbiking. (although I couldn't do that without orthotics and taping for sure)

Re: Taping

Rick R on 2/11/04 at 08:14 (144078)

Sandy,

This taping method is taking the same approach as mine. I tape around the foot, under the arch, as close the the heel as I can get. I keep promising pictures but don't get to spend much time at home these days.

Rick

john h on 2/11/04 at 08:34 (144080)

Sandy I can relate to the tape sometimes taking a small piece of skin. Does that ever hurt for a week or so. Then you cannot tape over this spot for several weeks. One does need to be careful. The place I always seem to get is just back of the toes.

Julie on 2/11/04 at 09:32 (144082)