Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Doctor will not respond!

Posted by Elly on 2/18/04 at 08:27 (144572)

I have been observing this forum for about two years now. I have seen some questions about scar tissue removal on this forum. For some unknown reason the foot doctors do not want to respond to these questions. So I am assuming that there are many horror stories related to this topic that doctors will not discuss. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Re: Doctor will not respond!

Dr. Z on 2/18/04 at 09:22 (144585)

You have to be more specific about scar tissue . I will discuss any specific scar tissue problem is that is what you have. Tell me the location etc

elliott on 2/18/04 at 11:19 (144600)

As I recall, the question of scar tissue removal has been discussed frequently over the past two years (do a search on scar tissue and then see the responses of Drs. Wander, Davis and others that pop up). Seems like there's fewer docs around to answer questions now; can't expect one to do it all. Dr. Davis has frequently recommended injections of Wydase solution.

Anyway, since surgery generates scar tissue, doing surgery to remove scar tissue is going to generate yet more scar tissue, so one should be hesitant to get surgery just for this. Aside from choosing your initial surgeon carefully, massage, ultrasound, walking, injections, etc., should be tried.

What I've always wondered about is how eveyone knows they have a scar tissue problem. That is something that whenever asked they rarely ever answer. Pain or recurrence is not always due to scar tissue.

elliott

Elly on 2/18/04 at 11:47 (144605)

The scar tissue started after EPF surgery, on the plantar fascitis. Have tried PT(ultrasound, massage, iontophoreis), wydase injections, walking makes it worse. Scar tissue has been confirmed on MRI. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

elliott on 2/18/04 at 13:35 (144611)