Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Teachers with TTS

Posted by DonnaO on 3/04/04 at 20:02 (146048)

Hi there. I was curious if there are any teachers with TTS who visit these boards. I am a third grade teacher and am interested in hearing how long other teachers have taken for leave and when they return. I had TTS surgery on 2/13/03 and returned to work on 3/1/03. My doctor said I could return to work and limit my activity. I feel I definitely returned to work to early and notified my principal that I needed more time to recover and they have been very supportive. I am interested to hear other teachers' experiences. Thanks.

Re: Teachers with TTS

Terry D on 3/04/04 at 20:25 (146050)

I teach 5th grade and coach track, wrestling, and football. I returned to my classroom 3 weeks after surgery. But sat most of the time. I was lucky as we then had summer break. I returned to full time coaching football 3 months afte surgery.
My advice if you have the sick days use them...don't rush this unless you can stay seated most of the day.

DonnaO on 3/04/04 at 21:50 (146051)

Thanks for the advice. I am also glad that the summer break is near. I wish you continued luck on your progress. Have a good evening.

Ed Davis, DPM on 3/05/04 at 00:42 (146059)

Look for posts by 'Marie' -- I think that the search feature may help.

Margie B on 3/05/04 at 10:42 (146094)

I am also a 3rd grade teacher. I was on medical leave after a few of trying to teach in a wheelchair, boot and crutches before my TTS surgery.