Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Heal Plantar Fascitis!!!

Posted by Ben w on 3/29/04 at 11:29 (148062)

Please Help anyone...
What a great forum! Lets see if it helps any.
Well here is my story......
It all started about 8 months ago. I (used to ) run about 2 or three times a week for three or four miles each run. I have been using new balance 1020's for about three years. Well one day I was reading an article about new 'great' running shoes and i was really intrigued by a pair of asics...so i bought them. I had a 5 mile run after a couple of milers to loosen them up. I did notice that the arch supports in the shoe were higher than what i was used to... Once i finished and while i was running i felt a sharp pain towards the arch of my foot near my heal, but i thought nothing of it. I have had small injuries in the past and they have always gone away (i have been running for about 16 yrs now). I am now in my late 20's and have this stupid injury that will not go away!!!! Anyway, after i finished the run i still felt the injury in my foot/arch. The next morning i felt it real bad! And since that time it has healed a little, but every morning it still hurts!!! I have tried stopping running for three weeks point blank...no help still hurts! PLEASE anyone ADVISE!!!! This injury is soo anoying!!! Should i get a heel brace? arch support? Ice my feet more ? what??? see a doctor???

Re: Heal Plantar Fascitis!!!

SteveG on 3/29/04 at 11:42 (148064)

Ben - you should read the heel pain book on this site - it will dicuss the nature of the problem, treatment options, etc. If, after reading the book, you have any questions, let us know.

Mark S on 3/29/04 at 21:30 (148109)