Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Posted by scott r on 4/17/04 at 21:26 (149072)

some of ya'll know just exactly how weird i am....it's 9:16 pm saturday night and i just sumbled upon the most interesting thing of my week. I'm working on an infrared healer. You may know of infrared devices that heat the tissue to help healing...maybe not much more than a heating pad. But i came across a nasa article about certain frequencies that don't heat the water in tissue and thereby penetrtate more deeply. For some reason these frequencies speed healing by a factor of 4. There are several companies that have some sort of FDA approval for devices that use this. One has approval for diabetic neuropathy. They sell them for $6,000, sometimes $2,000. Well, being an electrical engineer, i happened to know the parts cost about $80. I could build a shockwave device for a couple hundred dollars but that's another story. Anyway, i was wondering how i could quickly see if all 40 LEDs in the the prototype i built tonight were working. So i got clever and pulled out the camcorder which has 'night shot' on it. Wow! My LEDs light up the whole room when looking thru the camera. It's also interesting that i can even seem them on regular mode. so then i looked at the end of my TV remote through the camera while pressing buttons. cool! well, anyway now i have a few aches and pains to experiment on and a new thing to sell at heelspurs.com :)

Re: Cool!

Ed Davis,DPM on 4/17/04 at 21:45 (149076)

But before you sell it here you may need FDA approval?!?!?
Holy smokes -- do you have any idea how overpriced any and all medical devices are (we make the two hundred dollar hammer bought by the Pentagon pale in comparison).Our surgical drill sets are now selling for over $20,000 -- they don't last as long as a $50 Dremel one buys at the hardware store....