Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Recently Diagonosed with TTS

Posted by Jo B. on 4/19/04 at 21:27 (149168)

Hi, I have recently been diagnosed with Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome. I have had foot pain for about 3 years. I kept getting a diagnosis of PF. Recently it had gotten so bad that I was having trouble walking without falling.

Finally my doctor referred me to a pod. It took him 5 months to diagnose TTS. Finally after a Nerve Condution Velosity test, he diagnosed me with TSS.

He sent me to physical therapy which I have been doing for 4 months. I had severe pain on the outside of my feet and pins and needles or a buzzing feeling from my last 2 toes to my heal. I occasionally get some nasty foot cramps and sharp pains.

I went to see him last Thursday. He is having special orthodics made for me. He said if that doesn't help that he wants to try Cortizone shots and possibly putting casts on my feet. If none of these options work, he said that I would need surgery to release the tension on the nerve.

I'm sure the next few months will be interesting...Jo B.

Re: Recently Diagnosed with TTS

LARA on 4/20/04 at 07:12 (149203)

Have you tried compression socks. I got those while considering surgery and being reluctant. It took three years for me to be diagnosed too, and they were like magic for me. NOt for everyone, but relatively easy to try - and stop if they don't work. I saw them on amazonl.com the other day.

Jo B. on 4/20/04 at 13:36 (149228)