Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

bilateral posterior calcaneal numbness and pain with neural tension

Posted by Pam H. on 4/24/04 at 10:23 (149473)

Hi there. I am a physical therapist and am currently in Armenia serving for 2 years in the Peace Corps. Lacking good medical care here (and being a P.T. myself) I have been trying to diagnose this problem myself.
First of all I suffered bilateral ankle sprains last summer 2 weeks apart and it took most of the summer for them to heal (i.e. pain to go away)as I lived in a village w/ very rough roads, etc. I have also had ankle sprains in the past. About 8 months later approx. is when my symptoms started, of pain only when doing 'downward dog' while doing Yoga. I figured the heel pain was only if I added hip flexion to the maximal DF foot position and extended knee position. And then I noticed I also had posterior calcaneal numbness, first only on the right ankle and then on the left.
This has progressed over the past 2-3 months to now I can elicit the pain (burning/razor blade cutting type pain down my calc.) but only if I add hip flexion to it (neural tension). Essentially, it requires less hip flexion now.
The numbness is approximately egg sized, all sx a bit worse on the right compared to left.
Palpation does not elicit sx, nor does simple weight bearing activities (no pain w/ weight bearing, only the above combo of DF, Knee ext. and Hip flexion, typical of neural tension).
I do have back pain (long standing) however this does not seem to have any relation to my heel pain...meaning changing posn of my back does not elicit the pain, nor do I have any radiating pain in my back or legs, only the 2 inches at the back of each heel.
Do you have any suggestions??
Thank you very much for your help. I have no other options here (of going to a good Dr.)
Pam Holmes
I have had difficulty