Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Living with TTS

Posted by Lisa on 5/18/04 at 11:18 (150755)

Hello everyone with TTS. I'm new to this and very excited to find others.
How is everyone coping with your new life? I have so many mixed emotions. I'm still really young. The day I had surgery I wanted to know when I can return to my life style. The Dr. informed me maybe never...... Hiking biking, waterskiing, baseball and etc. Growing up, my parents wanted us to be active in this world and not passive. Now I'm finding out that I might have to be passive. My world is to be involved that is what wakes me up everyday.
I have 2 young kids who are involved in lots of sports. From coaching to going to games, now I'm relying on them to help me in the stores to push carts and grabbing things for me.
So I guess what I want to know is: What have you done to help you through this time?

Re: Living with TTS

marie on 5/18/04 at 21:18 (150797)

Just remember kids don't care how, where and when you spend time with them all they care about is that you spend time with them. Sometimes life isn't fair and Moms and Dads get sick. Sometimes their lives change because of their parents health. Figure out what you can do and go from there.

The big thing for me was that I missed my old body and was intent on waiting for it to come back. At some point you'll realize that it's not going to be the same. Adjustments have to be made. The best thing I did was get a used wheel chair. It allowed me to get out and about more. My kids realized that the old Mom's body was gone but the Mom was still here. We found new ways of doing things together. My youngest walked with me every day just in case I fell or needed help. We had alot of wonderful conversations that I'll treasure. My oldest son stayed closer to home for college. They survived. We survived.

best wishes marie

Re: Living with TTS Marie