Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Curious, what comes first?

Posted by Elyse B on 5/24/04 at 07:45 (151098)

I am just curious about something. My calf muscles are actually killing me. What comes first the chicken or the egg syndrome? Do my feet hurt becuase my calf muscles are tight and will the right orthotics make the calf muscles not be so tight when I walk?

Re: Curious, what comes first?

Dorothy on 5/24/04 at 11:25 (151108)

I am not a doctor, nor a pedorthist. I'm just a fellow foot, etc problem person here. In fact, I currently have hives and so my credibility may be even more suspect! However - I have been reading your posts and especially your reports that your calves/legs are increasingly painful/tight. In addition to all the other avenues you are pursuing here, I think you should be seriously considering a stretching/strengthening program right away. Several approaches to that have been/are now helpful to people with similar issues: The Personal Foot Trainers (www.foottrainer.com); Active Isolated Stretching program with the highly regarded trainer/therapist Aaron Mattes ( tapes, books available; also clinic in Florida (http://www.stretchingusa.com/); Michael Young and Muscle Release Therapy (he often refers to Aaron Mattes as his guide, as well as the Wharton Stretch book/program - the Whartons are also quite well known/respected; http://www.mrtherapy.com/) - those are some very good places to start. Also, you might want to look for a good, comprehensive, smart and careful yoga program either in person or using video tapes/books. Yoga and Pilates are both helpful.