Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Academic Research on TTS

Posted by Alexis C. on 6/03/04 at 15:44 (151915)

Hello everybody, my name is Alexis, I am a graduate student at Florida State University.

I am completing a project for a graduate class that focuses on Tarsal tunnel syndrome and the concerns of those who have this condition specifically with the types of socks that are available to them. The information collected could help to design new kinds of socks that are better suited to people with TTS and other foot problems.

Below is a short list of questions for those who are diagnosed with tarsal tunnel syndrome. If you have the time to answer the following questions, your responses would be greatly appreciated and very helpful to us. Your responses will remain anonymous and will be used for the purpose of this study only.

Feel free to answer the questions in any format you want. Expanding on questions and ideas is encouraged; it will help us to better understand your needs. If you have any questions feel free to email me at: (email removed).

1. Is there a certain kind of sock available to you that you feel helps to relieve the discomfort of tarsal tunnel syndrome?

2. Do socks with arch supports/elastic foot supports help?

3. If you use ice packs or heating pads to help relieve pain would it be useful if you had a sock that could hold the pack in place?

4. If you could design a sock for someone with your condition what qualities would it have?

5. How useful are foot inserts for treating TTS? Would you recommend custom made orthotics?

Re: Academic Research on TTS

Ed Davis, DPM on 6/03/04 at 17:44 (151937)

Alexis:

About 25% of TTS is caused by varicosities in the tarsal tunnel. That particular subcategory of TTS patients are ehlped by hose. I generally would try a below knee compression hose in the 20 to 30 mm Hg compression range for most.