Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

working with plantar fascitis

Posted by teresa on 6/19/04 at 22:08 (153525)

I was just wondering if anyone how do you manage to work with this promblem. I work in a factory on concrete for 8-10 hours a day I have been off for the last 3 weeks but I know I will have to go back quickly dont think they will let me stay on disability too much longer had the cortisone shots 3 of them so far no help. thank you

Re: working with plantar fascitis

JudyS on 6/20/04 at 10:15 (153541)

Teresa you are in a ticklish situation. It is nearly impossible to work in those kinds of situations with plantar fasciitis - in fact I would guess that that may well be how your PF began. You may have noticed that many folks who post here are like yourself - in work situations that require thm to be on their feet on hard surfaces for long hours.

Shoes, of course, are critical. I imagine that you've already explored what kind of shoes help. Has your doc given you orthotics? If the shots are not helping then it may be best to discontinue them. Too much cortisone can be risky. Are you able to use a mat to stand on at work?
Are you following all the usual procedures such as icing, ibuprofen, morning warm-ups, etc.? Can you be off your feet at home? Can you be assigned to a role at work that doesn't demand a lot of 'on-feet' time?

Unfortunately you're in a tricky situation and it's sadly likely that if you continue having to stand on your feet for hours at a time, you'll only be reinjuring them on a daily basis - PF is that persistent. Your doctor shoud know this and put this in writing for your employer. You may want to re-post your question in the 'ask the doctors' section of the message boards.

Kristie on 6/21/04 at 08:54 (153584)