Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Qustion for doctors about hallux limitus?

Posted by Lynn M. on 8/02/04 at 07:35 (156748)

Drs. I can only pull my big toes back about 20-25 degrees and my new podiatrist says thats its hallux limitus. He explained that my big toes were longer than my second toes and he said that this is considered royalty, usually the second toe is longer. Well he did x-rays, but i won't know what they showed until my next visit. Can you tell me what the x-ray tells you about this condition? Thanks

Re: Qustion for doctors about hallux limitus?

Pauline on 8/02/04 at 09:35 (156751)

Lynn,
I'm not a doctor, just a former P.F. sufferer. Having never experienced hallux limitus, what symptoms you were experiencing that made you go to the Dr.

The part about royalty is interesting. I wonder if that went back to foot binding or if many royal families experienced this condition and why.

Ed Davis, DPM on 8/02/04 at 13:28 (156764)

Lynn:
Hallux limitus is a restriction of motion at the big toe joint. What type of symptoms do you have?
Ed

Lynn M. on 8/02/04 at 16:10 (156772)

The pain i am having started a couple months ago it kind of felt like a bruise under my big toe joint.soon the pain became sharp-it feels like i have pf at my big toe joint(where the sesamoid is-the tendon that attaches there is real tight). The first dr. i saw said that it is probably pf- keep stretching. Now i can hardly walk.