Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Need input on buying 1st pair of orthotics

Posted by Linda V. on 8/07/04 at 16:51 (157166)

Hi,
Looks like stretching, icing, superfeet in NB879's, and the cortisone shots aren't enough. Better, but still need to go to next step of orthotics. Trouble is, my podiatrist wants to cast me (sitting) for a hard pair. He believes feet need firm support. I love the guy, but stopped in at a cobbler shop to se a pedorthist who wants to do a foam box and cast(he manipulates, no weight bearing) and make me a pair of leather over cork. He swears he will make me the foot I had when I was 12 years old. Cost is the same. What to do, what to do?????

Re: Need input on buying 1st pair of orthotics

Carole C in NOLA on 8/07/04 at 18:29 (157172)

(I am not a foot expert, but just another person who had a bad case of PF).

If it was me, I'd go for the pedorthist and stay away from those hard orthotics. From what people have said on this message board, hard orthotics often are awfully difficult to handle if you have a lot of PF pain.

I've never had leather over cork, but that sounds reasonable. My orthotics are semi-rigid and made of various layers of eva (sort of rubbery plastic stuff) on top of a harder plastic, and they worked outstandingly well for me. The eva is softer and cushioning. Mine were made by my pedorthist.

Carole C

Richard, C.Ped on 8/09/04 at 08:35 (157244)

I am no fan of starting someone off with hard orthotics. I really do not care for leather or cork as well. I have heard complaints that leather seems 'slippery' and the cork retains smell.

Check and double check to see if insurance will pay for the orthosis. Check to see if the C.Ped takes insurance. Find out what you will have to pay out of your pocket. Ask how long each will take to get back to you. One day? Two weeks? Ask how long adjustmets will take if needed.