Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

EPF

Posted by christyw on 8/11/04 at 23:56 (157637)

I was wondering if anyone can share their story with me about having a EPF done. I have decided to have it done and I go in for surgery on Tuesday. They are going to do my left foot first and then a week later my right. I was told that I would be in a cast for 2 weeks then a walking boot for 2 weeks and then in my shoes. I would just like to know if anyone can tell me from expierience what that was like. Can you walk or get out of bed?
Please fill me in on anything else you feel is important.

Thanks alot,
Christy

Re: EPF

Pauline on 8/12/04 at 09:20 (157664)

Christy,
I'm not a doctor just a former P.F. sufferer and I've not had any P.F. surgery, but I would seriously ask you to please consider postponing the second surgery until you see how the first one goes and you are well on your way to walking on that foot without pain.

Please, Please, take time to read this surgery board. Go back and read posts from people who have had EPF releases. There are many who post that they are still in great pain months after their surgeries.

There is NO snip and go surgeries not even EPF, and complications are a reality with any surgery so why rush to get both feet done within a week of each other. Remember you're the one that will be in casts and boots and pain not your doctor.

I'd like to see you happy with your results and walking before having the same procedure done on your other foot just a week later and I think many people here will agree with me.

Remember the tortoise and the hare? Take your time, finish the race and see the results before offering your other foot up for surgery.

My Medical Disclaimer,