Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

tailor's bunnion

Posted by billf on 8/12/04 at 09:18 (157663)

I am about to have surgery fo a tailor's bunnion. My doctor says two weeks and I'll be able to walk a little, light duty at work. Is this realistic?

Re: tailor's bunnion

Pauline on 8/12/04 at 10:28 (157674)

I'm not a doctor, but sometimes what the doctor says and what really takes place are two different things. Here are a couple of posts from the surgery board on this site. Take some time to read the entries you'll not only learn a great deal, but will gain new respect for your feet and what they go through on a daily basis when we walk.

I'd also suggest that you find out from your doctor exactly what procedures are planned to repair your bunion. There are different repairs some more involved than others. Ask all your questions ahead of time and be comfortable with your selected doctor and his treatment. Know before you go.

For the sake of space I've only posted two. There are many more entries
and you can do a search on Pub. Med for Medical Journal Articles.
Best of luck.

Tailor's Bunionectomy and PF Release View Thread
Posted by Dee C on 7/23/04 at 13:57

It has been since May 28th, and still hurts and is swollen. Have tried all types of shoes but the bump still sticks out. Just tissue I was told; but how long does it take for the swelling to go down generally? Should I tape it or wrap it or bandaid it? Would really appreciate an opinion. Had PF release surgery on other foot same day. That still hurts too, of course, if I am on it too much. Am I being too impatient or what?

Message Number 156069

Re: bunnion surgery View Thread
Posted by Tonya on 7/18/04 at 16:51