Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

A Question for Julie - Inversion Tables

Posted by Darlene on 8/13/04 at 12:46 (157760)

Thanks for all the great information you have been posting.

What do you think of inversion tables? I've been sitting for almost 7 months now after unsuccessful morton's neuroma surgery that led to tts and would like to do something to take the pressure off of my spine. I'm a little concerned that the ankle straps may put pressure on my tt area. Do you have an experience with these? My friend who is in teacher training tried to hang me upside down, but my feet wouldn't allow me to climb on the wall properly.

Thanks again.

Re: A Question for Julie - Inversion Tables

Julie on 8/13/04 at 16:42 (157778)

Darlene,the inversion table is very good for elongating the spine - it helps to open up the spaces between the vertebrae and takes the pressure off the discs. It's good for the circulation, too, because, like any inverted yoga posture, it speeds the return of blood to the heart. And it feels good - at least, I've liked it whenever I've had the opportunity to use it.

You shouldn't use it if you have high or low blood pressure, or any eye or ear problems, such as glaucoma, that might be adversely affected by the increased blood flow to the head. If there are no contra-indications, I'd give it a try - as long as the ankle straps don't give you pain.