Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Considering ESWT

Posted by Ginny on 8/15/04 at 22:08 (158040)

My husband has suffered for nearly 3 years with PF (with a heel spur). We are considering ESWT, but are not sure what to think. Sounds like it takes months to feel relief. Is this procedure worth the time and effort? My husband works on cement all day -- how long will he have to be off work? Is there a difference in the type of machines they use for ESWT? How do I choose?

Thanks for your help. This is uncharted territory for us!

Re: Considering ESWT

Heather on 8/15/04 at 22:31 (158044)

I am no doctor, but I recently tried the Ossatron before I found this site. After reading this site, I think that the Dormier would have been better since it is more selective and seems to have a faster recovery rate.

Ed Davis, DPM on 8/16/04 at 11:13 (158082)

Ginny:
I am of the opinion that the type of machine used does not offer greatly differing results. Everyone will give you reasons why 'their' machine is the best. I think that Ossatron works but Healthtronics has a treatment model that is a bit too expensive for todays healthcare environment.
Dornier, a high energy machine, is often office based, used under local anesthesia and the shockwave is aimed 'tangentially' (from the side) through the fascia thus making the heel bone less sore. Sonorex/Sonocur by Siemen's is a low energy machine, used first in Europe and Canada but available in the US. No anesthesia is used for that as 3 low energy shockwave treatments equals one high energy one. I have found it to work very well and feel it offers a lot of 'bang for the buck.' Some resources include: http://www.sonorex.com , http://www.unitedshockwave.com and http://www.ismst.com (for scientific info.).
Ed

Pauline on 8/16/04 at 11:41 (158085)

Ed,