Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Is arch pain normal?

Posted by lisa71 on 8/17/04 at 16:28 (158274)

First of all I find it very strange that I am nearly eighteen and have plantar facitiis. Second of all my pain is mostly directly on the plantar facial and rarely in the heel. I guess what I am saying is it possible my doctor mis diagnosed me because nearly everyone I have heard on this board says they have heel pain and I rarly do. Mostly near the ankle. Thanks for any help. I am freaking out a litte because my dad has severe nuropothy in both feet due to diabetes and can harley walk even with the more intense pain medications. Thanks again.

Re: Is arch pain normal?

Marty in SLC on 8/17/04 at 19:35 (158283)

Sorry no one responded to your post, I think and I'm not a doctor that it is possible to have pain in the arch area and have a plantar faciitis but it's less likely, only in real acute cases. I do agree with you that neuropathy is a scary thing but there are tests that can help with that. Chances aren't that great you have it.

Let me ask you a few questions.

How long have you had this pain?
Is it worse first thing in the mornig?
What kind of doctor told you you have PF?
Did that doctor tap on the inside of your ankle? (you said your ankle hurts there)

It's good your here asking questions and I would suggest that you read 'the book' the link is at the top of the page and start be limiting you activity level for starters if you haven't already.

Good luck and keep us posted,

lisa71 on 8/18/04 at 00:36 (158299)

How long have I had it?

a year

Is it worse in the morning?

only recently, not really worse but more I feel a dull ache but no worse than the rest of the day, primarily the pain comes with walking/running to much

What kind of doc told me I have PF?

A podiatrist

Did the doctore tap the inside of your ankle?