Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Stump Neuroma Surgery

Posted by Claire on 8/26/04 at 03:27 (158717)

Hi. I would be grateful if one of the doctors could asvise me about the above procedure. I had morton's neuroma surgery in Nov 2002 and have recently been advised that i have stump neuroma's in both feet, which is very painful, all of the the time. The doctor said he can operate and the success rate is 50%, is this true? He can implant a peice of muscle onto the stump neuroma or if the nerve is too damaged, he can implant the nerve into another part of my foot. Please advise. Many thanks.

Re: Stump Neuroma Surgery

Darlene on 8/26/04 at 09:23 (158722)

Hi Claire.

I am not a doctor, but I have heard that stump neuroma surgery could be very successful if the surgeon goes in through the bottom of the foot. That is where the nerves are and the doctor could follow each nerve fibre to make sure they are taking it all away from the weight bearing part of your foot. You need to find a doctor who does a lot of plantar incisions with good success. I think you have to be totally non weight bearing for a few weeks while the incision heals or else you could have big problems. Another option is to go to a neurosurgeon who would do it with a microscope lens to ensure all the nerve fibres are taken care of.

Did you have neuromas removed from both feet in Nov. 02?

Claire on 8/26/04 at 09:49 (158725)

Hi Darlene. Thanks for your response. Yes i had a bi-laterall removel in nov 02. Where/How did you find out this information?
Do you have similar problems? Thanks again.

Darlene on 8/26/04 at 13:17 (158735)

Claire: