Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

My foot surgery of 7/21 - retrocalcaneal spur and achilles repair

Posted by Alexandra H. on 9/15/04 at 11:49 (159946)

Let me say, before I start, that in college (in the early 90's) I was an avid exerciser (some would say that I was compulsive). I ran, weightlifted, swam and played volleyball and basketball. During my last years as a student, I would feel some pain in the foot. It started gradually, and eventually led me to cut down on a lot of my exercising.

Fast forward to years later. The pain worsened. I had been to countless podiatrists. I had countless orthotics ($$$$), cortisone injections, physical therapy sessions, RICE marathons, massages galore, but to no avail. Some doctors would say it was PF... some would say it was the biomechanics of my foot.

Then, in 2002 I moved to New York City, where you walk everywhere, where there are plenty of stairs to go to/fro the subway stations. And the pain worsened. So, I went to a podiatrist who took a look at the x-ray and simply identified a tooth-like spur growing at the back of my heel where the Achilles tendon attaches. He also noticed calcification around the tendon.

I was told that the achilles tendon would have to be removed from the heel bone. The spur was chiseled out. The heel bone was reshaped. The tendon was repaired and reattached using a screw. I was put in a splint for the first week. Then in a solid non-weightbearing cast for the next 7 weeks.

I was given crutches (that's the extent of what my insurance paid for), but I rented a wheelchair. I must say that I don't know what I would have done without the wheelchair.