Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Taping foot for a Marathon

Posted by Ro on 10/02/04 at 17:02 (160903)

Hello....I was wondering if anyone out there has actually been able to complete a full marathon with their foot/feet taped for plantar fasciitis? I have never done this before, and usually apply body glide to my feet before a race. However, I have had a set back from a PF flare up after training for an upcoming race, and am considering taping to get me through it. Thanks in advance.

Re: Taping foot for a Marathon

john h on 10/03/04 at 10:54 (160921)

Ro you want like my advice at all but if you have active PF I would not run the marathon. I doubt if tape for that distance would be of any use. It would be good for a sprain or such. I kept running distances when my PF was not very bad and ultimately I ended up with 9 years of PF and I cannot run at all. I know how you feel about running as it was a big part of my life but if I had it to do over again when I first developed PF I would have quit running unitl i had no PF pain. Good luck.

Linda V on 10/03/04 at 13:44 (160926)

Ro,
John H has a good point. If you read some recent posts on this board..most of them titled something like 'If I had to do it all over again...' ..you might have the feeling hit you that a number of people who pushed themselves..whether it be running, aerobics, or even WORKING an 8 hr shift on a hard floored surface while they had PF...wish they could do it over again and would have done whatever stretch of immobility it took (and yes, i know how hard it is..i was very active too) to get OVER it...
i have had PF of both feet for 8 months now. not a day goes by i don't grieve for an active hour of running, speed walking, or step aerobics..but i would rather suffer now for a year or so than 9 years like john. good luck in your decision.

R C on 10/04/04 at 13:59 (160960)

Ro,