Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

ESWT--high or low energy?

Posted by Connie H on 10/15/04 at 10:51 (161579)

Hi everyone. I have bi-lateral 'significant' heel spurs (whatever that means...they looked impressive on the x-ray) and my podiatrist has recommended ESWT. I've tried physical therapy, stretching, night splints, heel cups, custom orthotics, and most recentely, 2 cortizone injections. I've been battling it for 6 years. I'm not in much pain if I don't exercise, stand around for long, or wear pretty shoes. :) I've tried bicycling, and THAT makes it worse as well. This site has been my main source of information--it's the most complete I've found. The machine available in my town is the Ossatron, and I'm waiting to see how much my insurance will pay. It's possible that for what my out-of-pocket will be, it would be cheaper to go to Canada or elsewhere in the U.S. and have treatment on the Dornier Ultra. However, I am quite confused as to which is more effective--low or high energy ESWT. Does the Dornier machine truly produce the high energy cavitation effect? If the low energy does not produce this effect, is there a higher rate of relapse with it? I know this has been discussed, but I'd like to hear from people who've had either treatment and been 'cured.' My dream is to be able to walk for fitness again. I've given up the idea of ever running again, I'd be happy to walk. Thanks in advance for any input you can give me.

Re: ESWT--high or low energy?

Ed Davis, DPM on 10/15/04 at 14:20 (161591)

Connie:
I have used high and low energy with equal effect. Each method has its proponents. The issue of 'cavitation' is a theory in terms of its need with no scientific proof either way. I feel that it is significant to note that the Europeans who have had a lot more years of experience with this modality than the US have gone largely to low energy as have the Canadians.