Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

looking for hope

Posted by Cathy G. on 10/17/04 at 13:02 (161677)

I just had bilateral ESWT on Fri.
I have been a nurse for 18yrs. and have been treated for plantar fascitis on and off since then. I have worn orthotics for that time. I have tried acupuncture and rolfing with little results. This summer, i broke down and received 3 cortisone shots that did not help.
I have had acute phases ( usually related to Irish Dancing which I have not been able to do for the past 6 yrs) and the past 2 yrs have been a daily struggle with heel pain.
So Friday was a big day for me. The procedure was not too bad, and the doctor told me to rest on the weekend, but that I may return to work on Monday. I am scared because my feet are sore, and the right heel still hurts(it was the worst area). I am so afraid of having pain 'forever', and not being able to work.
Any guidance appreciated

Re: looking for hope

Dr. Z on 10/17/04 at 14:49 (161686)

Hi Kathy
This is something that is hard for me to help you with due to not seeing your foot or my inability to know your specific work duries. IF you can take time off for at least another week that would be my common sense advice. If you must go to work. Taping,supportive shoes. nite splint heat can be helpful.

melinda s on 10/17/04 at 15:05 (161689)

There is hope...Physical Therapy...one that knows how to treat this disorder with ultra sound, heat packs, stretching...you may have calcium deposits and scar tissue built up in the heels..until it is massaged out of there with treatment...it will not get any better, and will stay inflammed...M

Lynn F. on 10/17/04 at 18:50 (161701)