Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Middle (old) Age & Weakened Vision

Posted by Kathy in Ky on 10/26/04 at 16:01 (162208)

I'm venting- I went to work this morning without my glasses & needless to say I was pretty useless all morning! I've been wearing reading glasses for about 6 years & progressed to biofocals about 3 yrs ago. Today I realized how blind I've become in the last few months. I was so desperate that I ran out to our local (expensive) small town drug store during my plan time at school just to buy reading glasses. I know I'm ready for a new prescription & think my Christmas present to myself will be contacts. Our secretary wears one contact for up close work & one for distance. Others have said they only wear one contact? I really want something that will allow me to grade papers late at night & read for extended periods. Any suggestions?

Re: Middle (old) Age & Weakened Vision

Pat on 10/26/04 at 16:22 (162214)

I actually had the Lasik vision surgery. The first time they corrected it to 20/60 (my vision had been 20/650). I went back and had an enhancement on one eye but not the other (I didn't want to get two enhancements done at the same time). The result is the same as your friend - one eye sees up close and the other sees far away. I don't need reading glasses but the faw away vision isn't crystal clear so I will probably have another enhancement. If I do though I will lose the reading capability and that's something I'm not nuts about doing so I can't have both near and far that's crystal clear. This getting old really stinks! If one more person or doctor says to me .... starts happening when you hit 50 I will SCREAM!

Pauline on 10/26/04 at 17:02 (162217)

Pat,
I would caution you only from the stand point that not everyone can get used to using one eye for distance and the other for only close up.