Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Pain on the top of the foot

Posted by Kathy G on 10/31/04 at 10:22 (162616)

I bought some spiffy new running shoes and thought they were going to work out for me but after wearing them for a few days, they actually made my heels worse and my neuroma start to hurt. At the end of each day, I also began to notice a pain on the top of my foot, just above the area where you tie the bow on your shoe.

I switched back to the running shoes I've been wearing for about four years but the pain in that area has continued and it's swollen. Some days I tied the shoe as loosely as possible and I thought it was getting better but these last couple of days, it's worse. This morning, for the first time, it ached when I awakened.

I suppose I could have OA in that bone since I have it in so many other places, including my big toes, but I thought I'd check if anyone has ever had any problem with that area of their foot. This is also the foot in which I badly sprained the ankle and that area was also affected but that was three years ago.

Anyone else ever experienced this sort of thing? Thanks!

Re: Pain on the top of the foot

Shell D on 10/31/04 at 11:09 (162619)

You might want to consider a stress fracture. That's where my pain was. Been there, done that.

Suzanne D. on 10/31/04 at 17:00 (162645)

Kathy, I'm sorry about the new pain you're experiencing!