Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

any moving tips?

Posted by Linda V on 11/01/04 at 15:00 (162717)

Hi,
we will be leaving new england to move to florida late this winter (no hurricane jokes, please.) i have never done a long move before..any tips on hiring movers? do's and don't do ideas? we definately are NOT up to renting a truck and doing it ourselves. Thanks in advance.

Re: any moving tips?

Pauline on 11/01/04 at 20:34 (162744)

Linda,
Sometimes the best referrals come from family and friends or of course through work if the move is work related.

Depending of what you can afford letting the movers come in and do the packing and using their boxes seems to make the experience a whole lot easier. Other people prefer to pack their own items but just purchase boxes through the moving company. Others just find boxes and use them.

I personally think labeling, numbering and making a list of what that box contains is helpful because when they arrive you can just direct the movers to specific rooms based on the labels. It also provides you with a list should anything go missing or get left behind on route. They will probably provide you with some type of inventory list and make certain that you do not sign off on it until you inventory everything has arrived.

After they pack and seal your boxes have some duct tape and put your own tape or pieces of tape over the sealed boxes or seal them yourself. Add your signiture on part of the tape that YOU apply where the boxes would be opened. If the tape with your marking is missing or cut you know that those boxes have been tampered with. Check them especially carefully.

Take all valuable small items with you if you can. These people have a lot of time to examine your items and with an inventory list they usually know which boxes become good targets. Anything you can do to foil tampering will help you.