Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Dealing with pain

Posted by Julie on 11/21/04 at 05:53 (164467)

When Dorothy wrote a few days ago about her severe pain, I made a brief post to her about using the breath to help manage pain. Since then I have been thinking about this, and today I found the draft of a post I wrote two years ago which went into more detail, and I thought it might be useful if I copied it here. I've revised it somewhat in order to make it more useful, including giving details for a relaxation technique that I and my students over many years have found especially effective.

Here is the post, which I made in November 2002. It's a summary of some of the most important things I have been teaching for the last 17 years. If you read it (it's long!) and think it might be helpful to you, I suggest you print it out and keep it: you know how quickly posts vanish into oblivion.

Pain always causes muscular tension and stress as we brace ourselves against it, and this 'bracing' usually intensifies the pain. There is a great deal we can do to undo the muscular tension and stress that make our pain worse. Learning and regularly practising relaxation techniques is the key, and most people who are in pain are sufficiently motivated to do this. It can be done in a class which is specifically for relaxation, or in a yoga class that emphasises relaxation rather than dynamic strong physical postures (not all do, by any means). Biofeedback and autogenic training are two techniques that have their roots in yoga, and both are effective. Or you could use a relaxation tape. I've made one, and would be glad to tell you about it if you wish.