Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

2 mos post eswt and some probs.

Posted by Cathy G. on 12/31/04 at 16:45 (166343)

I am 2 mos status post eswt, and had to have abdominal surgery last week. I have had to take some motrin to keep the pain tolerable, and am wondering if this will damamge the eswt effect? Also, I am a nurse, and this has helped me to rest my feet, but I still have pain in the heel. I have the foot trainers, but not sure if they help. I tried to wear my custom-made orthotics, but they made the pain worse. I am wearing birkenstocks and sneakers with soft 'isoarch' inserts, as well as a night splint, and just praying, and resting more than before the abdominal surgery. It is hard to feel hopeful, and dont know what else to do.

Re: 2 mos post eswt and some probs.

EleanorH on 12/31/04 at 18:56 (166346)

Hi, Cathy. I too am 2 months past ESWT. I wonder if my situation is unusual. Although I had a few good days about a week ago, I find that my pain today is almost as bad as it was prior to the treatment. I have a desk job but I do have to walk between buildings a few times a day. I'm wearing New Balance shoes with orthodics. It seems the birkenstocks actually increase my pain. I sleep in a night splint. I've been off of anti-inflammatory drugs for almost 3 months. I'm just a little discouraged because I don't think I'm progressing and would like to hear how you're feeling. I do hope your recovery from the other surgery goes well. God Bless. Happy New Year. Thanks. Eleanor

Ben Lee on 1/01/05 at 16:34 (166368)