Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Heel pain 14yr old another question

Posted by Tina H on 1/24/05 at 13:26 (167826)

Dr. Z, A few weeks ago I posted regarding my 14 yr old with heel pain. Turns out she does not have Severs (growth plate is already closed) but she does have pf. My question, the doctor pointed out that she has an extremely high arch and asked me if anyone in the family has some disease where the arch get progressively higher with time. What is the name of this condition? I should have written it down when she said it and have now forgotton it. My arch is on the high side, but my husbands is really high. He has to buy a very wide shoe, so I'm wondering if this comes from his side of the family and I would like to read more about this. Thank you so much. Tina

Re: Heel pain 14yr old another question

Dorothy on 1/24/05 at 16:38 (167837)

I am not a doctor, but I'm going to venture this possibility: is it pes cavus?? The reason I suggest this possibility is that someone posted here recently with this condition; I didn't know what it was and I looked it up (google it for more info.). It sounds like what you are describing.
Obviously, the doctors can give you more info., but in the meantime, you might want to google this and do some information gathering. Good luck to you and your daughter.

Dr. Zuckerman on 1/24/05 at 17:10 (167842)

Hi

Did he say CMT disease?. Charcot Marie Tooth Disease I have treated patient at your daughter's age for plantar fascia. Is she very active. Sports, cheerleading etc

Tina H on 1/24/05 at 18:07 (167851)